Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




UEFA Champions League

Official: France Football release nominees for 2021 Ballon d'Or Award.

France Football have on Friday 8th October, released a 30-man shortlist for the 2021 Ballon d'Or Award. The winner will be announced on 29th November 2021. The European champions, Chelsea and Manchester City had 5 players each on the list, one more than any other club in Europe. 

Below are the top 6 players for the award, based on trophies and awards won in 2021.

1. Lionel Messi

The Argentine is the current holder of the award and has won for a record of six times, one more than any other player. Messi scored 37 league goals with 14 assists in 47 appearances for club and country in 2021.

• Spanish Copa Dey Rey 

• Copa America

• Pichichi Award 2021

• Copa America Player of the Tournament

• Copa America Top Scorer 

• 28 Man of the Match Awards

2. Jorginho

Chelsea's midfielder, Jorginho, was phenomenal for his club and country in 2021.

• UEFA Champions League

• UEFA Euros

• UEFA Super Cup

• UEFA Men's Player of the Year

3. Robert Lewandowski

The Polish footballer has scored 42 goals for Bayern Munich and his country Poland in 2021.

• Bundesliga

• DFL Super Cup

• Bundesliga Golden Boot

• European Golden Boot

4. Kevin De Bruyne

• English Premier League

• Carabao Cup

• PFA Players' Player of the Year

• Premier League Player of the Year

5. Cristiano Ronaldo

• Coppa Italia

• Supercoppa Italiana

• Serie A Golden Boot

• Serie A Forward of the Year

6. N'Golo Kante

• UEFA Champions League

• UEFA Super Cup

• UEFA Champions League Midfielder of the Year

• Champions League final Man of the Match Award

Other Nominees for the Award;

• Erling Haaland (Dortmund)

• Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

• Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)

• Mason Mount (Chelsea)

• Ceaser Aziplicueta (Chelsea)

• Bruno Fernandes (Man United)

• Raheem Sterling (Man City)

• Ruben Dias (Man City)

• Phil Foden (Man City)

• Riyad Mahrez (Man City)

• Harry Kane (Tottenham)

• Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

• Neymar (PSG)

• Donnarumma (PSG)

• Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)

• Chellini (Juventus)

• Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

• Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

• Luis Suarez (ATM)

• Pedri (Barcelona)

• Gerald Moreno (Villarreal)

• Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)

• Nicolo Barela (Inter Milan)

• Simon Kjaer (AC Milan)

Who will win the 2021 Ballon d'Or Award?

Drop your comments in the comment box.

Content created and supplied by: Lawguns (via Opera News )

Ballon d'Or Award Chelsea France Football Lionel Messi Manchester City


Load app to read more comments