Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

2 Arsenal Players Made The List Of The Final 2021 Golden Boy Award Nominees

It is no longer news that the Golden Boy Award is an award given to the best player aged under-21 in Europe by sports journalists, to appreciate the player for an impressive and outstanding performance in a calendar year. The given of the award started in the year 2003 in which former Ajax player, Rafael Van Der Vaart won the maiden award.

Borussia Dortmund striker, Erling Haaland is the current holder of the award. From statistics, ten (10) football strikers, seven (7) midfielders and only one (1) defender have won the award since inception. Manchester United remains the only club in which three (3) of its players have won the award. These players include Wayne Rooney (2004), Anderson (2008) and Anthony Martial (2015).

Only one (1) Arsenal FC player has won the award, that is, Cesc Fabregas in 2006. In the list of the final eighteen (18) nominees, two (2) Arsenal FC players, Bukayo Saka and Gabriel Martinelli made the list of the final 2021 Golden Boy Award. Unfortunately, no player has received the award twice unlike other individual awards.

Manchester United forward, Mason Greenwood also made the list while no Chelsea FC player in the list. Others who made the list include Gonzalez Pedri, who has been tipped to win the award and Eric Garcia (Barcelona FC), Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid), Arsenal FC loanee to Olympique Marseille, William Saliba.

Who truly deserves this award? Let me hear your opinion.

Content created and supplied by: DanJoan (via Opera News )

Anthony Martial Borussia Dortmund Erling Haaland Golden Boy Award Rafael Van Der Vaart


Load app to read more comments