Sign in
Download Opera News App



FIFA CLUB WORLD CUP: Three Teams That Have Qualified Alongside Chelsea Including An African Club

FIFA have confirmed that the Club World Cup will be hosted in the United Arab Emirates after Japan withdrew it's hosting rights due to the impact of the coronavirus in the country. European champions, Chelsea will travel to the Middle Eastern Country, which has hosted the tournament on four previous occasions recently in 2018.

The current FIFA club world cup format requires seven clubs to compete for the title over a duration of two weeks. The teams eligible to appear in the tournament are the continental champions of each continents which includes; CAF Champions League (Africa), AFC Champions League (Asia), OFC Champions League (Oceania), CONCACAF Champions League (North America), Copa Libertadores (South America) and UEFA Champions League (Europe), alongside the host nation's domestic league champion.

So far, only four teams out of seven have officially qualified to participate in the tournament in the United Arab Emirates including the champions of UAE league. UEFA champions league winners Chelsea, OFC Champions League winners Auckland City and CAF champions league winners Al Ahly Egypt are the only clubs alongside Al Jazira Club who are the Emirata champions last season.

Chelsea will join the competition in the semi-final stages of the tournament. The European champions have not failed to win the title since Chelsea's last participation in 2012 which they lost to Copa Libertadores champions, Corinthians.

Leave a comment, like and also share.

Photos Source: Google Images.

Content created and supplied by: JonGinho (via Opera News )

Chelsea Club World Cup Copa Libertadores FIFA Middle Eastern Country


Load app to read more comments