Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




La Liga

Remembering When Marta Won Her Fifth Consecutive FIFA World Player of The Year Award

The Brazilian forward was third in 2004 and 2005 voting, then won her first World Player of the Year award in 2006 while playing for Ume in Sweden, and repeated as champion in 2007 and 2008. After joining the Los Angeles Sol in the United States Soccer League in 2009, she quickly became the league's leading scorer and eventually won her record-tying fourth World Player of the Year title (Lionel Messi matched that record with a fourth award of his own in 2012).

After the Los Angeles Galaxy disbanded in January of 2010, FC Gold Pride picked her with the first overall pick in the WPS supplemental draft to join their team. She finished the year as the league's leading scorer again, and her Gold Pride team beat Philadelphia, 4-0, on September 26 to claim the WPS title. A little over two months later, she broke the record by becoming the first player in history to be awarded World Player of the Year five times.

She almost broke the record in 2011 and 2012, but lost to Homare Sawa of Japan and Abby Wambach of the United States, respectively.

Photo Credit Google

Content created and supplied by: TalkSport10 (via Opera News )

FC Gold Pride Los Angeles Sol Philadelphia WPS World Player of the Year


Load app to read more comments