Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




UEFA Champions League

European Dominance - Comparing Chelsea 2008 UEFA Award Winners with the 2021 UEFA award Winners

Lifting the UEFA Champions League is the utmost goal that many top clubs in Europe set for themselves at the beginning of each Season. PSG and Manchester City are obviously among the top clubs on the European continent that has the biggest desire to lift the silverware.

These two clubs have been receiving the full support of their Wealthy owners for the sole purpose of emerging the Champions of Europe in the past few years but they are still trying to win it. 

Winning the Champions League trophy certainly comes with a lot of perks. Apart from the bragging rights about being the best club in Europe that the winner gets to claim till at least another winner emerges, they take up a new and classic moniker - Champions of Europe. 

Apart from that, members of the squad of a Champions League winning team are usually the biggest Winners when it's time for UEFA to dole out awards for the best performers.

This was clear by the recent Winners of award announced by UEFA. The European Football governing body announced Edouard Mendy as the Goalkeeper of the year. N'Golo Kante was the Midfielder of the year while Jorginho was named as the Player of the year. The Manager who spearheaded Chelsea's second ever UEFA Champions League glory wasn't left out as he was given the Manager of the year award ahead Pep Guardiola and Roberto Mancini.

Edouard Mendy did kept 9 clean sheet for Chelsea during the Champions League campaign so there was no other person to be given the Goalkeeper of the year other than him.

N'Golo Kante literally saved Chelsea against Real Madrid in the Semi finals and he was pivotal in the victory of the Blues against Manchester City in the Final. Jorginho did won the UEFA Champions League and the European Championship so that placed him as the most suitable candidate for the Player of the year award.

Jorginho was the first Chelsea player to win UEFA player of the year award. Not even some of the clubs legend like Didier Drogba, John Terry and Frank Lampard won the European highest individual honor during their time at West London. Chelsea also dominated the award but this isn't the first time that it has happened.

Unlike the 2020/21 season that Chelsea dominated UEFA awards after winning the Champions League, Chelsea didn't win the Champions League title in 2008 but somehow, they were the biggest Winners of UEFA awards.

The Blues lost the Champions League final to Manchester United on penalty shootout in an historical all-english Final. However, the Blues pipped Manchester United to many of the UEFA awards.

Petr Cech was named the Goalkeeper of the year for his contributions during the tournament and in the final against the Red Devils. Former Chelsea Captain John Terry was named the Defender of the year ahead Barcelona's Carles Puyol, Liverpool's Jamie Carragher and Manchester United's Rio Ferdinand.

Former Chelsea Manager Frank Lampard was named as the Midfielder of the year ahead Cesc Fabregas, Paul Scholes, Michael Essien and Steven Gerard.

Please follow for more updates.

Content created and supplied by: AminullahiMuritala (via Opera News )

Chelsea Edouard Mendy Manchester City N'Golo Kante UEFA Champions League


Load app to read more comments