Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr invites 25 players for Mexico friendly match

Super Eagles of Nigeria head coach Gernot Rohr has released the list of the invited players for the friendly match against the Mexico national team which will take place on the 3rd of July.

The former Girondins Bordeaux football club head coach has on Monday morning named 25 home based players who are plying their trades in the Nigerian Professional Football League for next Month's encounter.

The list consists of some regular Super Eagles stars like Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Anayo Iwuala and John Noble, while many of them will be making their debut for the national team.

There is no room for a single foreign player in the list, with the likes of Kelechi Iheanacho, Wilfred Ndidi, William Troost Ekong, Victor Osimhen, Paul Ebere Onuachu and others all missing.

Nigeria played the Cameroon national team few weeks ago in two legged friendly matches and Gernot Rohr was unable to make use of many home based players, and he has now decided to give them the opportunity to showcase their talents against Mexico.

The invited players for the international friendly match against Mexico are;

Goalkeepers: John Noble of Enyimba FC, Ikechukwu Ezenwa of Heartland FC of Owerri.

Defenders: Tope Olusesi of Rangers International, Adekunle Adeleke of Abia Warriors, Olisa Ndah of Akwa United, Oriyomi Murtala of Kwara United, Lawal Franklin Degaulle of Enyimba FC, Mohammed Zirkiflu of Plateau United, Imoh Unit of Enyimba FC, Enyinnaya Kazie of Rivers United, Christopher Nwaeze of Kwara United and Ifeanyi Anaemena of Rivers United.

The Midfielders: Ekundayo Ojo of Enyimba FC, Samuel Nnoshiri of Katsina United, Uche Nwasonaya of Plateau United, Seth Mayi of Akwa United, and Anthony Shimaga of Rangers FC.

Attackers: Anayo Iwuala of Enyimba FC, Stephen Jude of Kwara United, Charles Ashimeme of Akwa United, Ibrahim Olawoyin of Rangers International, Abdulmutalif Sanusi of Katsina United, Neurot Emmanuel of Plateau United, Auwalu Ali Malam of Kano Pillars and Chinonso Ezekwe of Rangers International FC.

The invited players are now expected to resume camp on Tuesday the 22nd of June 2020.

Content created and supplied by: Opeyeminews (via Opera News )

Anayo Iwuala Gernot Rohr John Noble Kelechi Iheanacho Mexico


Load app to read more comments