Sign in
Download Opera News App

Digital Technology


Consumer Electronics


Computer Laptop

The Difference Between Kilobytes, Megabytes, Gigabytes, Terabytes, Petabytes And Exabytes

In computing, memory can be said to be any physical device that can store information either temporarily or permanently. 

These memories can either be disk space, storage space system memory or data usage, and there are all divided into the following unit of measurement;

1. Bit

This can be known as the smallest unit of data, they stand for 2 states of information.

2. Byte

A byte simply stands for 256 states of information and a byte is equivalent to 8 Bits. A computer uses a byte to stand for just 1 character that is a number, letter or symbol.

3. Kilobyte

A kilobyte is known as the smallest unit of measurement of memory, and 1 kilobyte is 1,024 Bytes. It is abbreviated as KB and is used to measure small-sized files.

 4. MegaByte

This is a type of size that is used to measure large files such as some high-resolution pictures. 1 Megabyte is equal to 1,000 Kilobytes. It is abbreviated as Mb.

5. GigaByte

GigaByte is used to measure the capacity of storage devices such as the internal storage of phones and SD cards. 1 Gigabyte is equal to 1,000 Megabytes. It is abbreviated as GB.

6. TeraByte

This is a type of measurement that is usually used on a storage device that has a large capacity. 1 Terabyte is equal to 1,000 Gigabytes. And it is abbreviated as TB.

7. Petabyte

PetaBytes are not used to measure the memory of device rather it is mainly used for the measurement of total data stored in a network or a server. 1 Petabyte is equal to 1,000 Terabytes. 

To show you how large it is 1 Petabyte can store up to 500 billion pages of normal printed text.

8. Exa Byte

1 Exabyte is equal to 1,000 Petabytes or 1 billion Gigabytes. This unit of measurement is so large that it can't be used used to measure the capacity of any storage device, even the biggest cloud storage centres are still measured in PetaBytes.

However, exabytes are used to measure the amount of data that is being transferred over the internet for a particular time, for instance, a year.

9. Zetta Byte

A zettabyte is a unit that is used to measure the amount of data that is in the world. 1 Zettabyte is equal to 1,000 Exabytes. 

10. Yotta Byte

1 Yottabyte is equal to 1,000 Zettabytes. This particular unit of measurement is practically useless because all data in the world is just about some zettabytes.

It is said that it will take about 11 trillion years to download just 1 Yottabyte file if you're using a very high powered broadband.

11. Brontobyte 

A Brontobyte is equal to 1,000 Yottabytes. In a simpler term, it is 1 followed by 27 zeroes.

12. Geopbyte

A Geopbyte is known as the largest unit in a digital storage of a computer, 1 geopbyte is equal to 1000 Brontobytes.


Photo credit Google.

Content created and supplied by: Freddy's (via Opera News )

Byte Kilobytes Megabytes


Load app to read more comments