Sign in
Download Opera News App



See how Nigerian border looks like (pictures)

Nigeria is a country on the coast of West Africa, bordered by the Bight of Benin and the Gulf of Guinea in south. Nigeria is bordered by Benin, Cameroon, Chad, and Niger, it shares maritime borders with Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, and São Tomé and Principe.


The border starts in the west at Beninese tripoint in the Niger river , then proceeds overland in a northwards direction, before turning eastwards in a broad arc. The border then proceeds eastwards in a broadly eastwards direction, though with considerable undulation, before reaching the Komadougou Yobe river, the boundary then follows this river eastwards to the tripoint with Chad in Lake Chad.The border cuts through the densely-populated cultural region known as Hausaland , with Hausa speakers forming the majority on both sides of the frontier.

With an area of 923,768 km2 the country is almost four times the size of the UK or slightly more than twice the size of the U.S. state California. Nigeria's main rivers are the Niger and the Benue, the main tributary of the Niger. The country's highest point is Chappal Waddi or Gangirwal with 2,419 m (7,936 ft), located in the Adamawa mountains in the Gashaka-Gumti National Park, Taraba State, on the border with Cameroon.

The Federal Republic of Nigeria (its official name) has a population of of 177.5 million people (UN est. 2014) making it Africa's most populous country. Capital city is Abuja located in the center of the nation, while Lagos is the primary port and largest city.

Spoken languages are English (official), Hausa, Ibo, Yoruba, and others.

The detailed map above is showing Nigeria and surrounding countries with international

borders, state boundaries, the national capital Abuja, state capitals, major cities, main

roads, railroads and airports.

Follow and like for more.

Content created and supplied by: Holuwatobi4 (via Opera News )

Benin Ghana Niger Nigeria Nigerian


Load app to read more comments